Nourish the Soul

A few weeks ago I was having a conversation with a woman who was nearing the end of her treatment for breast cancer. She had just had the final reconstructive phase and would soon be able to look back on this very difficult season of her life. Her call to me was prompted because she was struggling emotionally. She shared that her life work in the orchestra had been placed on hold during her surgeries. As our conversation continued she confessed that now in her mid fifties she has known for some time that she needed to find other ways to fill her time. Her children were grown and needed little attention and her husband is currently in a very busy season in life leaving her to spend countless hours alone.

To provide her comfort and care I began to pull tools out from my authentic self’s shed. What have I discovered along my path that I could now pass onto another in a great time of need?

This woman’s soul lost its nourishment when she became severed from her instrument. She needed to replace the source and fill the void. With the knowledge of her musical gift I began to explore other ways she might employ the arts.

In my journey I have discovered to my great surprise that I like to bake. It is an outlet for my creativity and gives me satisfaction. Exploring different music genres is a fun way to display or change my mood. Just this week I danced around the kitchen to Santana while baking a banana bread!  

The woman told me that she used to love to bake but had not done so in quite awhile and her music collection was vast but not playing. As we hung up she had several new ideas that could help her to fill in the artistic void until she was able to be safely reunited with her instrument.

We are all in danger of having a void in our life. Steps need to be taken now to discover talents and gifts that have been buried and are just waiting to be unearthed. 

Sunset over the Gulf of Mexico

3 thoughts on “Nourish the Soul

  1. what a touching story.
    thank you for sharing – with the woman, and with us, your readers.
    thank you also for stopping by my photo challenge for “fall” and for leaving your “like” button behind. that was quite wonderful!
    have a wonderful day.

    Like

If you have something to say I'd love to hear from you.

