What if?

Cover of "Promise Me: How a Sister's Love...

Cover via Amazon

I have always enjoyed reading biographies. I guess I can thank my father for this fact. When I was young we would go to the library weekly and come away with a stack of new books. He would always choose one for me to read and it was always a biography.

In preparation for breast cancer awareness month I picked up the book Promise Me, by Nancy Brinker. I was really interested to discover how a single woman could create such a phenomenon as the Susan Komen Foundation. What I learned about this remarkable woman is that her desire to help others was instilled at a very young age. The following is a quote from Nancy’s mother addressing both girls at a very young age.

     “People have died for this country. People have sacrificed their lives so you could live in peace and freedom, and all that’s asked of you is that you take care of it. Stewardship. That’s all. You care enough about your community to look after those who aren’t as fortunate as you. When you see someone in need, you give. When you see something wrong, you fix it. Because its your country, it’s your community. You can’t sit around on your duff waiting for someone else to make it better. It’s up to you.”

This statement really struck me. How many of us heard these words growing up? I am younger than Nancy Brinker by a couple of decades and I can say that I did not. Stewardship was a word completely unfamiliar until I became a Christian seven years ago. With this kind of fire in her I can understand how this amazing woman created such a powerful organization. What if everyone had this fire inside, imagine the problems we could solve. Are you up to the challenge? 

4 thoughts on “What if?

  1. Great post. Very thought provoking. I am delighted to report that ordinary folks are working extremely hard here in NZ to mop up the worst of the awful ship grounding and oil spillage that has occurred in the past two weeks. Volunteers were the first to respond, but wider needs across our society demand more stewardship.

    Like

  2. Your post jogged an old but special biography related memory.

    Around 1990, I had one of the most rewarding experiences in my old trade while helping a woman put together a biography of her time as a World War II nurse.

    I used to work in the printing field when it was done without computers. I taped, separated, altered, and arranged the negatives of the type, photo and art so printing plates could be made to print and later fold into a book or what ever.

    This elderly woman came in with a pile of photos and letters and wanted to turn them into a book. Normally the book would be sorted into pages and type into camera ready art long before I saw it. But she couldn’t afford much and our dept. was not busy. The production person took her plight to heart. He knew I had an artistic bend and talked to me. We convinced the “powers that be” that I could put a book together from this state.

    The book. “A Nurse Remembers” was war time biography and tribute to her husband who recently passed away. They met while stationed in (I think) France, she a nurse, he a soldier. She had memorabilia, photos, and letters that she an friends saved. She even brought in actual metals, booklets, and stuff. Her family members got involved with the process, came to the shop with things to add.

    By the time I was done I felt I had lived that horrible and wonderful piece of time with her. She gave me an autographed copy. (I have it–somewhere?) I don’t know if she sold enough books to cover her expenses but it was an awesome book to me and most important she completed the task she and her husband always meant to do. I think it helped her with her grief.

    This comment is long but it bubbled up from your post’s trigger. I’m glad it did, thanks

    Karen

    Like

If you have something to say I'd love to hear from you.

