New York City

 

I love NY

New York in December continued…

So when I left you we were visiting Ground Zero and the site of the new World Trade Center. After we poked around for about an hour I could wait no longer breakfast was a must. There was a typical style NY deli across the street so we placed and order for a couple of egg sandwiches to go. We sat in the old cemetery in front of St. Paul’s eating our breakfast. It was chilly but sunny. After breakfast we headed for the subway with our eyes on mid-town.

We got off in Times Square station. It was my first time in this station and it was HUGE. I wasn’t sure we would ever find our way to street level but with some help we did. Funny story- as we exited the station Steven wanted to buy some sugarless mints(he apparently left his in his bag at the hotel). He approaches a conveniently placed newsstand, selects his mints and hands to the cashier. The cashier in turn tells him that will be $1.19 plus tax. So he asks the obvious next question- how much is tax? The incredulous answer is “I don’t know”. Of course not, why would the cashier know how much tax is? I laughed so hard I could barely walk out the door.

But out the door we went settling into the mass of people that were moving about the city sidewalks this week before Christmas. We walked through Times Square, always a fascinating place with the lights and people. As we moved our way through the city streets I happened upon Elmo, you know the Sesame Street character. My young nephew is a real fan so I had my husband snap a few pictures and I dropped a couple of dollars into the bag.

IMG_0214

We stumbled upon a wonderful outdoor street fair with booth upon booth of vendors selling their wares. It was crowded but I enjoyed looking at all the unusual things to purchase. There was a lovely outdoor skating rink and temporary restaurant. I say temporary because it was made of something like heavy-duty vinyl and heated with those propane heaters that are used on outdoor patios. In the picture below the restaurant is toward the back.

IMG_2866 

From here we headed to 5th avenue. I wanted to show my husband the famous holiday windows. I will say that while they were nice it wasn’t all I remember it being when I was a kid. To my surprise Steven wanted to go inside Saks…really? Ok, I relented, everyone should have this experience once in their life. If you have never been when you enter at the ground level you are bombarded with a cache of scents in the magnificent beauty department. At this time of year there are plenty of well dressed young men and woman to assist in the selection of your next favorite scent. After sniffing a few scents we moved on. The elevator in Saks is an experience. Believe it or not there are elevator operators. We got off on one of the many women’s clothing floors and touched and looked at some beautiful gowns and party dresses. Sticker shock was all over Steven’s face. Time to go…

Directly next store to Saks is St. Patrick’s Cathedral. It was midday and we were a bit weary from all the walking and in need of a rest. St. Patrick’s was the perfect refuge. Packed with people, many of whom were making their way to the front to view the life size nativity, we opted to sit for a while. Even with all the people it was pretty quiet. Amazing how such a boisterous city can be hushed in a house of worship. Quietly we sat, watching, praying, relishing the history of the Cathedral.

Next stop Rockefeller Center. For me this is the heart of NYC at Christmas. The giant tree. The ice skating rink. The trumpeters. The people.

IMG_2868

IMG_2872

IMG_2870

IMG_2873

We chose not to skate. We just walked around with the crowd enjoying the sites and sounds of the city at this special time of year. The afternoon was wearing on and we were getting hungry so we began to make our way back to Times Square. I had seen a brewery right outside the station that I thought would be a good spot to grab a late lunch before taking the subway back to Jersey. I can’t recall the name of the brewery but the food was good, all prepared fresh with real fries and the brew was tasty. Plus we could watch out the large windows that looked onto the street…a fascinating place to people watch.

As we made our way to our hotel and car for the ride home the sun was setting. There was a cruise ship leaving the NY Harbor heading someplace warm for the week. The pictures below were snatched just before we left for home.

IMG_2875

IMG_2878

IMG_2876

IMG_2877

It was a nice weekend. Hope you enjoyed the trip.

 

Paige

2 thoughts on “New York City

  1. My twins heard that video playing about memory and came over to the computer where I then shut it off. They begged me to turn it back on. They also fell in love with the doggy and James said “that girl is going skateboarding with Elmo” Did you know that 2 year olds would like your site so much? lol.

    Like

If you have something to say I'd love to hear from you.

