Celebrating Women

Women's empowerment

My plan today was to put up a post highlighting accomplishments achieved in February and new “stretches” coming my way for March. In my quest for a piece of clip art I learned that it is Women’s History Month with a specific emphasis on education and empowerment in 2012. This of course has my juices flowing. My passion and purpose in life is to empower women. For me this is exhibited through my work as a nurse helping women with cancer and most recently my involvement with the organization Dress for Success.

The purpose of Women’s History Month is to increase consciousness and knowledge of women’s history: to take one month of the year to remember the contributions of notable and ordinary women, in hopes that the day will soon come when it’s impossible to teach or learn history without remembering these contributions.

Anyway I thought it would be fun to invite my readers to participate in a month long celebration of women’s history.

If you would like to participate you could simply once a week or more often if you choose write a post on a women of history.

Some ideas to get YOUR juices flowing…

Maybe she is one you know a lot about already or perhaps one you would like to dig into a little deeper. My friend over at Stopping the Wind recently used a quote by Helen Keller to get her out of her slump.

Or you could head over to Women’s History Month and check out the daily celebration and write accordingly.

Perhaps my photo blog followers have pictures and stories of women they would like to share…

How about my poetry followers sharing a little on their favorite woman poet…

Or maybe my fellow healthcare/conscience bloggers would like to give health facts important to improving women’s lives…

This may require you to stretch beyond you comfort zone, so be it…

I hope you will join in the Celebration. I will try to have a widget to use soon(no promises here though as it is beyond my current skills).

I will leave you today with this song…

12 thoughts on “Celebrating Women

  1. Pingback: Looking back helps to keep forward moving… « The Authentic Me

  2. Pingback: How are you celebrating Women’s History Month? | Black Write & Read

  3. Pingback: Women’s History Month | A Daily Life

  4. Pingback: I’d Rather Work Than Wish « Living The Seasons

  5. Pingback: Be My Guest « The Authentic Me

  6. Pingback: Anne Morrow Lindbergh « Living The Seasons

  7. Pingback: My Maternal Grandmother « Living The Seasons

If you have something to say I'd love to hear from you.

