International Women’s Day

womenshistorymonth1

When we are born we are designed with personalities, talents and gifts to help us succeed in our God given purpose. The people that are placed into our lives whether it be for a lifetime or a season help to shape us.

In honor of International Women’s Day I have decided to write my blog today about two very important and special women in my life. My mother Helen and sister Kelly.

My relationships with each of them has changed over the years with the seasons of our lives. Most all of my memories are positive, for this I am very thankful.

Kelly and my relationship has been interesting over our adult life. She left CT as soon as she graduated HS to join the service. Shortly thereafter she was married and in rather quick succession had three beautiful kids. She lived “away” for nearly 10 years. Visiting occasionally but we were never really what I would define as “close”.

When she decided to move home to CT I offered to have her and her 3 kids come to live with us(husband and my 3 kids). She lived with us for 2 years. Our kids were young and became like siblings. She and I however still did not share that sacred sister bond that I longed for. I can remember in the summer of 2011 when I was away as a camp nurse for the summer I sent her an email and said something like, I want to be close, to which she replied ok let’s be close. I returned home and shortly thereafter Kelly and her children moved cross country. We did not keep that commitment.

Kelly came back again a few years later. Kids were bigger and she had plans to go to school. She moved in with mom. It was nice to have her back “home” again but we still didn’t have that sisterly relationship I hoped and longed for.

Almost 2 years ago my sister got some difficult news. I offered to help in any way I could. It was a stressful time for her but many decisions and appointments later she had the outcome we had been praying for. A few months later she sent me a note card. She joked about some of the unexpected discoveries during this painful season of her life and the positive things that had come of it…our relationship being the brightest star.

Its been 2 nearly year since that walk and our friendship has definitely grown. We talk or text pretty regularly. We get together as often as our schedules permit.

This for me is a reflection of the scripture Romans 8:28-And we know that in all things God works for those who love him and are called according to his purpose.

Thanks for reading.IMG_1092

From left to right- mom, me and sister. November 2010 celebrating their birthdays.

4 thoughts on “International Women’s Day

If you have something to say I'd love to hear from you.

