A Weekend In April

As Sunday rolls to a close I thought I would share some of the images I captured in my varied and busy weekend. I was most relieved on Friday afternoon to end my work week.  It had been exhausting and challenging on several levels but I decided that instead of thinking about the “issues” all weekend I would do as my Savior tells me to do and cast my worries Him. You know I must say when practiced this works! I am feeling refreshed on many levels this evening and ready to begin the week afresh tomorrow.

Yesterdays post captured images of My Favorite Things from around the yard and house. After snapping, cropping and writing I returned to the yard to determine where my new raised flower beds would be placed. I hope to have fresh, organic vegetables all summer long, I will keep you posted on how this goes. I will confess it is a bit of a stretch for me. I kept my camera nearby and captured a few additional images of the bees and butterflies at work collecting nectar from those luscious lilac blooms. Butterfly sipping Nectar

Busy as a Bee

My daughter Jess came home, fairly unusual for a Saturday, and we spent some time chatting while she cleaned out her car(which acts like a cross between a closet and a suitcase). Both Haley and Kitty enjoyed some of the sunshine and fresh air.

Here Kitty Kitty

Cute dog!

After a nice day in the yard I headed out to a FunRaiser for a breast cancer organization called Team Towanda. I was participating in the health fair prior to the party honoring and celebrating amazing women. It was a great event with food and dancing all night long. I was blessed to have both my sister Kelly and a friend Grace attend the party as my dates.

Celebrating Women at TTF

Sunday was busy and fun too. There was a bike blessing this morning at church, hosted by the Christian Motorcycle Association. No good pictures of our bike though…I will snap a few next time. We rode along the shore enjoying more glorious sunshine until we reached a destination our most recent favorite eating spot, The Bridge. Plenty of good food and fellowship. Once back home I decided it wasn’t time to let the weekend go so we went out where I let my husband beat me at two games of pool:) We were heading around the final corner towards home when I spotted him. Standing so majestically. I could hardly believe it. So beautiful. So still. Such great posture. Patiently watching. Waiting for some unsuspecting prey to come past so that dinner could be fetched. Just look at him. Tell me he isn’t amazing.
Large Crane

8 thoughts on “A Weekend In April

  1. The heron almost looks fake! There’s a rookery here in downtown Richmond. Every afternoon, I see one of them flying north away from the river to I don’t know where. But it happens every day.

    I’m happy you could spend time with your daughter this weekend – how nice!

    Nancy

    Like

    • Thank you. I felt really fortunate for having spied him out of the corner of my eye as we drove past…created quite the stir with the passer-bys wondering with the woman with the camera was doing trekking around on the side of the road was looking at:)

      Like

  2. Oh lilacs! How I miss those…in our NH hometown we had a whole stretch where they bloomed on the side of the road and you could smell them as you drove through. So glad you shared that photo. Love the pink color, too. Usually we see them purple or white.

    And that heron – my gosh what a beauty! Looks like a lovely weekend…xoxo

    Like

  3. I love those lilacs…..such glorious colours. The heron is superb. We have smaller white faced herons on the Inlet near where I live. They are so elegant and always remind me of tai chi when they move so delicately and quietly in the shallow water searching for food.

    Like

If you have something to say I'd love to hear from you.

