What May Brings

May

The sun was warm but the wind was chill.
You know how it is with an April day.
When the sun is out and the wind is still,
You’re one month on in the middle of May.
But if you so much as dare to speak,
a cloud come over the sunlit arch,
And wind comes off a frozen peak,
And you’re two months back in the middle of March.”
–  Robert Frost

I feel this poem reflects how quickly time passes. It seems as though it was just last week that we were talking about New Year’s goals. Each month I have spent time reviewing my goals, updating and adding new ones. I have found this to keep me on task and even challenge me to new heights. I want to thank you dear readers for encouraging and reading along.

As I peek into May I get a glimpse of a busy and diverse month. In our family May has more birthday’s than any other. We will celebrate the births of my son, brother, niece, nephew and our granddaughter. I expect this will bring a few photo opportunities as we take Piper to the circus and for her first carousel ride.

Piper Jean

My husband has picked up the planks to build two raised beds that I intend to grow some vegetables in. More photo opportunities here.

We will be honoring the mother’s of our two soon to be born grandchildren at a baby shower. Yet more photo’s.

I plan to honor my chosen profession of nursing this month as we celebrate Nurse’s week from May 6-12th. I hope to bring a couple of guest posts as well as a few posts of my own.

The Foodies also have tentative plans for a late May gathering to kick-off summer. You can check out our other adventures on the newly created Foodie page. I think I will begin to add recipes our favorite prepared dishes.

Finally, at least for now are our plans to travel to the Delaware Water Gap next weekend to take part in a digital photography course. I have high expectations for this weekend. I am sure I will have marvelous things to share when I return.

Landscape in April

Above is a photo in our backyard last weekend. The colors are popping out all over the place.

What plans do you have for the month of May?

7 thoughts on “What May Brings

  1. Beautiful poem. I love the idea of goals for May. Mine include visiting friends who live in a metro area about 3 hours away. I haven’t seen them since last July, or even earlier. That’s my biggest goal.

    Like

  2. I’m coming in a little late in May, but I love your idea about goals…so I’m going to do it for June. Your post is reminder how important family & friends are in our lives. I think my first goal for June will be to make a real effort to spend more quality time with my family and friends.

    Blessings and thank you for this post…God had me read at exactly the perfect time 🙂

    Like

If you have something to say I'd love to hear from you.

