December again…

time_for_champagne-party_invitations-tokketok-whiteSo here we are, December once again. And as it does every year at this time in addition to the usual hubbub of merry celebrations and all other things jubilant, I celebrate a birthday.

All of my life I always felt somewhat cheated by having a birthday a mere 10 days before Christmas. Between commitments and illness, few friends attended my parties as  child. Once I got older I preferred to just skip over the whole thing entirely. Not because I disliked getting older…I know some have a real hang up about that but I don’t. I just got tired of being disappointed by those who could not celebrate; it’s hard to compete with the hoopla of the Christmas season. When my favorite guy and I got hitched this became a bit of a sticking point because he is a major birthday celebrator.

But this year I will be 50. Anyhow the discussions about birthday celebrations began early this year and were all over the place. I could easily rule out doing something at our home because we all know who would be doing most of the work for that kind of party. So I considered having a party out somewhere. Wow, can that get pricey! Then I thought I would rent a house up north for a few days and have all our kids there and spend time playing and hanging around together. Whoa—do you know how much that costs?!

I decided to speak with a friend from work who heads north to New Hampshire regularly about a place to stay and do you know what? She is letting us stay in their home for the time for free! Yep, no cost at all! I am so blessed. She has a perfect little log cabin in the woods. Sleeps just enough for all the gang. Even has a hot tub under the stars. Today she came in to show me the photo’s of the Christmas tree that they put up this past weekend.

So we will be heading north for a few days. With the exception of our daughter on the west coastm all the kids, spouses, significant others and grandson is coming. We will be playing in the great outdoors for sure! Hopefully there will be plenty of photo’s, laughs, food, and memories to share.

For today it brings me Joy and Thanks just thinking about it.

10 thoughts on “December again…

  1. That sounds like a great way to celebrate a milestone birthday! Hopefully you take some time to be quiet and reflect as well.

    Thanks for the note you left me the other day on my blog. I’m still getting around to responding to it, but I really really appreciated it.

    Nancy

    Like

  2. That sounds like a perfect December getaway weekend and a wonderful way to celebrate a birthday! As you celebrate your 50th birthday we will be celebrating our 17th wedding anniversary the same day (providing my math is correct and you were born on the 15th). Enjoy every moment making memories and have a happy, happy birthday! Karen 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The 50th Year | The Authentic Me

  4. Pingback: New and Scary Things Part One | The Authentic Me

If you have something to say I'd love to hear from you.

