The 50th Year

I recently wrote about my upcoming birthday and shared about my plan to spend a weekend away in the winter woods with my adult children. Well what I did not tell you is that while this was my idea—the whole Go North thing and play in the snow—I do not play any outdoor winter activities. In fact in recent years I have begun to say that I am a “winter observer” enjoying the white stuff from inside my comfy living room preferably with a fire roaring.

So why would I suggest such an adventure?

Well I have decided to make this year the year I “try something(or learn) new” every week. In fact I plan to take it one step further and take up the Eleanor Roosevelt challenge and try something regularly that scares me. I even bought a book that offers suggestions. I keep it on my bedside stand so that I can look upon my commitment every day when I wake and before I go to sleep. So I plan to start with some outdoor winter fun.

I have several ideas of things I hope to conquer over the year. Many of which has my favorite guy grinning from ear to ear as he gets to be my buddy in most! And I figure I will get lots of good blogging material out of it.

So that is 52 weeks of something new. Wanna join me? We can all use a little adventure in our lives, right?!

 

3 thoughts on “The 50th Year

    • It’s a little journal chock full of ideas titled Do one thing everyday that scares you. I will likely blog about my personal challenges and accomplishments. I do believe that these types of “growth” projects are as unique as the individual. What scares me or is a new experience for me may be second nature for someone else. It would be great to have some blogging friends who want to reach new heights in 2015. If I knew how I could create a wicket but that goes beyond my current skill set.

      Like

  1. Pingback: New and Scary Things Part One | The Authentic Me

If you have something to say I'd love to hear from you.

