Community Supported Agriculture

 

Photo credit Provider Farm

 

Earlier this year I submitted my name to the wait list of an local CSA. I was excited when last month I received an email informing me that I had the option to buy into the winter and upcoming summer shares.

So what exactly is community supported agriculture?

A CSA is a partnership between the farmer and the shareholder. The purchase of a share is an investment in the upcoming farming season.

What’s in a share?

The CSA I have joined provides organically grown vegetables and herbs. The shareholder can purchase the size share that is most suitable for their family size. Weekly distribution will vary depending on crops in season.

So why join a CSA?

The cost and convenience of purchasing a share from a locally established organic farm makes sense to me. I get the freshest possible produce, grown locally. All of this decreases the cost of transportation reducing pollution. Plus the farm employees local people. It is WIN-WIN-WIN.

What did my first winter share contain?

On Friday I picked up my first winter share of produce. Unlike some programs I can actually pick and choose what I like. I went home with three full grocery bags, recyclable of course. My bags were filled with carrots, watermelon radishes, parsnips, onions, garlic, winter squash, brussel sprouts, cabbage, plus greens—kale, spinach, lettuce, leeks, and bok choy, all being grown in unheated green houses.

Photo credit Provider Farm

On Saturday we made fresh eggs with leeks and spinach for a late breakfast and corned beef with carrots and cabbage for dinner. Completely fabulous food with farm fresh produce in December. Plus it gives me an excuse to try out some new Pinterest recipes.

Below you will find the recipe of the week. I look forward to making this to accompany a farm fresh chicken.

Recipe of the Week:

Maple roasted carrots

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. carrots
  • 1 tbs. oil
  • 1 tbs. butter
  • 2 tbs. maple syrup

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 F.
Chop carrots into long matchsticks. Drizzle with oil and toss to coat. Arrange in single layer on baking sheet.
Roast carrots for 15 minutes, then remove from oven and toss with butter and maple syrup.
Roast for another 5 to 10 minutes until carrots are browned but not burned.
Stir with spatula to coat with glaze and serve.

Credit:

Serving Up the Harvest by Andrea Chesman

One thought on “Community Supported Agriculture

If you have something to say I'd love to hear from you.

