New and Scary Things Part One

A few weeks back I wrote about my plans to do one scary or new thing every week for a year. My intention is to blog about those crazy scary new things as often as life permits. So I thought I would begin by sharing my adventures from my birthday weekend with my family(click the link if you missed the post).

We headed out early Thursday afternoon. My favorite guy had once again done amazing feats by fitting all our snow adventure gear into our little Prius still leaving room for us! The drive was pretty. Clear blue skies and lots of mountains. We began to see snow on the ground about an hour into Vermont…a good sign since we needed snow to play. Four uneventful hours later we pulled into the driveway of our weekend retreat cabin. It was absolutely lovely! My friend had decked the halls with a huge tree in the main living room and lots of little lights adorned the outside evergreens. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the home that my friend so generously let us stay in, a true blessing.

We enjoyed an evening in front of the wood burning stove and went to bed early to be ready for our first big adventure.

Friday morning arrived and so had one of our daughters and her boyfriend. So after an easy breakfast and putting the necessary ingredients into the crock pot for tonight’s chili we headed out for the mountains. I had called ahead so we knew there had been some fresh snow on the mountain overnight, apparently perfect for the snow-lovers. I planned to take a ski lesson while everyone else got there snowboards moving for the first time of the season.

My lesson started at 1:00. I was a bit nervous to tell the truth. I had only skied once in my life when I was about 14 and while memorable it was not a great experience. My instructor for the next 1.5 hours made his way over and asked a few questions about me and why I wanted to learn now. He said my yoga practice would help with skiing…I could only hope this was true. We waited for a bit as he expected another newbie to join us but in the end it was just me. Not a bad deal at all…a private lesson for $45.00!

So he taught me how to walk in my boots and after he felt I had mastered this task I instructed me on how to get the skies on.

Whoa…those things were slippery! I truly could not believe just how slippery…what was I expecting!?

Anyway, he had me master some basic moves and then proceeded to the bunny hill.

It was okay. I didn’t run any of those little kids over and I managed to stay upright. I guess I did better than I thought because soon enough he had me in a ski lift climbing up the mountain!

Yikes! Now I was scared. I knew the lift did not stop so I needed to jump off and remain standing.

Whew, I did it. Now we would begin our (hopefully) slow descent down the slope. I wasn’t doing too badly. He was teaching me how to steer.

Pretty good.

Not so bad.

Then I started to pick up some speed. Oh no, now what.

On the ground.

I realized he didn’t tell me how to get up so I just waited.

Once back up I tried it again. Wow, I cannot believe how fast I am going.

I cannot really control my speed by turning so I just fall again.

Get up. Now I am cranking. Somehow I manage to get all the way down the hill. I don’t take anyone out and I remain standing. Miracle!

My instructor makes me go up on the lift again. Now I am not gonna lie here, I was getting pretty tired by this point. It was physical as well as mental work just to keep standing.

But I managed to get off that lift successfully for the second time that day, woohoo!

It takes a while. Several more falls. But eventually I make it down. He said I recover well. That is the yoga—good balance! Lesson over. He suggested I go right back up again. I want to go find my family though…not too confident I can make it down alone.

As I walk into the lodge they are all there. I raise my arms in the air like an Olympic champion.

One scary thing DONE!

 

 

7 thoughts on “New and Scary Things Part One

  1. Did you follow Marge Katherine at one time? She did a no-comfort zone challenge in 2012 and had some success with it too.

    http://margekatherine.com/2011/12/28/anticipating-the-no-comfort-zone-2012-challenge/

    I’d recommended a book to her at that time called “My Year With Eleanor: A Memoir” by Noelle Hancock. Noelle wanted to challenge herself and used Eleanor Roosevelt as her role model to be brave and try new things. It was a good read and well written, so it moved quickly.

    Ya’ did good with the skiing. That’s hard to master and you should give yourself a big ol’ gold star for trying it out. You WERE a champion and did right to lift your arms like the Olympic Champion that you are.

    Have fun! I look forward to more updates.

    Nancy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: New and Scary Part Two | The Authentic Me

If you have something to say I'd love to hear from you.

