New and Scary Part Two

One of the joys of blogging is the “discovery” process. Let me explain. In my most recent blog post I shared my adventures on the ski slope. As I wrote I must reflect, pulling out what was memorable and weaving words together to make it at least somewhat interesting for the world to read. So in the writing process I am able to relive the moment, examining the details. As I immerse myself in the memory I can almost feel the cold air on my face and feel the slippery skis on my feet. It is in my opinion an unexpected joy that writing has given me.

Today’s memory is of our second day of adventure. All of our children(well the 5 who live on the east coast) have now arrived at the cabin. As a funny aside everyone arrived separately each having been provided directions to our weekend retreat via email. Well as it turned out as each person arrived there was never another car in the driveway. So each of them, including my daughter who arrived in the middle of the night, had to go on faith that it was the right house. We all got a laugh out of this when it was discovered!

Anyway, I digress. It’s Saturday, the sun is shining for the first time in days and we have reservations for a Zip-lining adventure. The resort can accommodate 8 people at a time so our entire group cannot play but those who aren’t able have great alternatives. So after a hearty home-cooked breakfast we all head out.

We have been told that it will be cold so we all have tons of winter gear on…I now understand why little kids don’t enjoy going outdoors in the cold…it is a lot of extra clothing which makes it hard to move and weighs quite a bit too. As we near the resort I begin to feel quite anxious about this adventure. What on earth was I thinking? These zip lines are high up and I am not always a fan of heights. But I am committed so I squash those butterflies with some self-talk.

Once in the lodge we meet our guides for the afternoon. We all get into our harnesses, helmets, and gloves and head out onto the lift. I am telling myself this is going to be fun. I have all my children with me, the sun is shining, and I am doing something new and scary!

December 2014 Brettonwoods New Hampshire Zip-lining Adventure

There we all are about to begin our adventure.

Our first step is a brief run that includes the basics of zip-lining: sitting, holding on and the all important braking, oh and let’s not forget how to pull yourself in if you brake too soon and end up a distance from the landing point! My combat to fear is to go first, so off I go. But keep in mind that I can touch the ground and the run is only about 10 feet…but still I do it.

This mastered we are off, trekking through some beautiful terrain to our first zip. The day is truly glorious. The sun is bright and the air crisp. Fresh snow is everywhere. Truly picture perfect. I thank God as I amble through the knee deep snow for such a beautiful day with my family.

We arrive at our first Zip. Clip on and off I go!

Exhilarating!

The runs get progressively longer and higher over the next couple of hours zipping above the tree line, skiers and snowboarders below our suspended selves. We walk over some high in the tree rope bridges(this I can do without) and even rappel a few times(this I really like…I can see some rock climbing in my future). Our time passes all too fast and before you know it we are headed back to the lodge to turn in our harness.

What fun we all had. Hopefully one day soon I will have some of the video feed that Emily’s boyfriend got from his little video camera thing(not sure what this is called, maybe a go pro).

Great day, great adventure, fun memories.

Me(back left) Emily(back right) and Jessica(front and center)

Me(back left) Emily(back right) and Jessica(front and center)

 

2 thoughts on “New and Scary Part Two

If you have something to say I'd love to hear from you.

