New and Scary #3

Putting ourselves out there can be scary. We ask ourselves things like what if they don’t like me or what if the answer is unfavorable? But putting ourselves out there is when the growth happens and where the opportunities are. What if we re-framed the potential responses to the positive; maybe I will make a new friend or perhaps I will get a big YES.

One of my Christmas gifts this year is a perpetual calendar written specifically for nurses with little daily thoughts. One of the sayings that caught my attention is

“what we believe about ourselves can hold us hostage”.

Wow, now there is a true statement.

What is holding you hostage?

So this week I have needed to really put myself out there. I am taking a course these next 8 weeks that will require me to stretch beyond my current borders for sure. This week I needed to find a place to hold a community educational event(and figure out a topic) and find 16 hours of community observation time. This has required me to make contacts with unknown people in search of opportunity. God has been so faithful. I found a pot of gold with a cold call contact. She needed someone to provide March’s community talk. But that is not all, they book the space, do the advertising and asked for a topic that I am completely comfortable with! Awesome!!! Oh and by the way, the day I contacted her scheduling the March event was on her to do list for that very day! God’s perfect timing. I prayed, He answered, I listened. And I overcame a fear of being told no.

I recently stumbled upon a couple of bloggers who have also set out to do scary new things in 2015 and will be linking up with them so consider poking around on some new blogs to see what others are venturing into this year.

Fifty Two weeks of adventure

Such Small hands

6 thoughts on “New and Scary #3

  1. You always draw to yourself the things you think about the most. Good on you for trying new and scary things this year! I’m trying a new craft, that I haven’t done since I was a teenager, so that’s new and scary for me, but obviously on a lower scale of scariness than what you are planning. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

If you have something to say I'd love to hear from you.

