First Book of the Year 2015

First Book of the Year 2015Sheila over at Book Journey is hosting a First Book of the Year 2015 party and I have decided to attend. Hop on over and check out the other book lovers who are rockin’ in the New Year and discover the next great read on your list.

I have cevery dayhosen the book every day by david levithan. A friend told me about it a few months back and I added it to my reading list then, given the concept I thought it an excellent selection to ring in the new year.

It is a book written for youths, which I discovered I read quite a lot of…guess I am youthful! Anyway, the protagonist in the book, who’s name is A, wakes up each morning in a new person’s body. In other words A is someone else every day of the year. I thought the concept intriguing. Imagine waking up in the body of your son or daughter, your best friend, mother, father, sister, boss, whoever. Having access to their thoughts and memories for a day. How much insight would you have?!  No spoilers here, I will not be giving you any of the details of how A interacts with the world, you can read it for yourself if you want to find out. I will say that the book is not what I had hoped it would be. It is still intriguing but I would have developed this story very differently if I were the author…just saying. I haven’t finished it yet but it has been a fairly fast read and I am interested to see where the story is going.

Have you read it? Let me know your thoughts if you have. What book is sitting on your bedside stand on January 1, 2015?

Happy Reading in the New Year of 2015

16 thoughts on “First Book of the Year 2015

  1. Oh my goodness, I am forever amazed at the number of ideas authors have for books. I haven’t read anything by this author although I have heard of him.

    Like

If you have something to say I'd love to hear from you.

