Work Life Balance—distorted

Currently I am finding myself frustrated by the demands of work on my personal life. The expectations to my job have changed over the past 3 years and now often require early am(6:30) and later evening meetings. I find this challenging for a variety of reasons but mostly because “I like my life” and don’t really want to be tied up with work until 7,8 or 9 pm on a regular basis,even if just once or twice a week.

As a rule I am a fairly happy, positive person. And this month I have been encouraged by the pastor to make gratitude my song. Truthfully this is usually not a big problem for me but don’t you know when the challenge is on the devil will throw all kinds of arrows in your direction to prevent you from hitting the mark. Tomorrow I will get back on my positive game but for tonight I would ask for your input.

How do you handle this  type of stress in your life?

9 thoughts on “Work Life Balance—distorted

  1. I have had the aspects of my job in the past 2 years as well. I go in earlier and stay later. To balance my family and work, I do some work on the weeknights after the kids have gone to bed. I also work on Sundays when my youngest is napping. Friday night and all of Saturday are my down time. I hope this helps!

    Like

  2. good question. as odd and perhaps as simplistic as it sounds, i am working on the principle that stress is a choice. that has been a liberating discovery, and i must admit there are some moments when that is easier to apply than in others.
     
    i don’t need to keep the long hours you do, as i have a regular day job, but even so there are moments that can be more challenging than others. and then i take a deep breath and remind myself, ‘as your days, so shall be your strength’ and it has proven not to be an empty promise.
     
    blessings to you for all that is on your plate!

    Like

    • Thanks.
      As I was hitting the publish button I actually had the thought—you are choosing to be stressed. This is an interesting thought. I do believe that is what is meant by surrender, letting go, we do not have to be this way it is a choice.

      Like

  3. If it’s short term, you hunker down and set your priorities. In my case it would be work, exercise, and sleep. Everything else goes bye-bye. My meals are based on what I have in the freezer. If I have time to preplan, like for year end close, I’ll cook beforehand and freeze soup, cooked protein and rice and stock up on frozen veggies. If it was sudden, you might want to set aside your precious free time and stock up some cooking.

    If it’s long-term, you may want to consider changing jobs. This kind of expectation gets worse, not better. It’s a mindset and a culture that’s difficult to change.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Excellent advice all the way through. This evening I was contemplating on the shifting job expectations. There is definitely a mindset/culture set by administration that is driving the “extra’s” if you will and there is no changing or persuading it. I see some difficult choices in the future. For now I will do some serious deep breathing.

      Like

  4. Pingback: Gratitude Week 1 | The Authentic Me

  5. American work culture is insidious – more and more is being expected for equal (or less) money. If your work stress is temporary, you can find ways to compensate and de-stress. However, if this is going to be long-term (or demands on your free time will be increasing), you may have to get clear on your priorities and strongest values; then decide…

    Like

If you have something to say I'd love to hear from you.

